Secretary Local Electoral Area Boundary Committees Room 1.67 Custom House Dublin 1



To whom it may concern

On behalf of the Dublin South West Constituency Labour Party, I wish to make the following submission in respect of the four electoral areas in the Dublin South West Constituency.

In short, we would like to make the following observations:

- The two six seat Tallaght Electoral Areas Tallaght Central and Tallaght South require no amendment to their existing boundaries.
- The 2013 revision adversely affected Firhouse and Knocklyon. The Templeogue and Rathfarnham electoral areas need to be reconfigured to avoid the neighbourhoods being arbitrarily partitioned as they were in 2013
- The boundary committee should end the practice of naming any of the electoral areas in SDCC as "Terenure" as it is inaccurate and confusing

COMMUNITY IDENTITIES & LINKAGES

A cursory glance at the map on P117 of the 2013 Boundary Committee report clearly demonstrates how the then committee failed to respect the *identities and linkages* in Firhouse and Knocklyon

Point four of the terms of reference of the 2018 Boundary Committee states:

"Local electoral areas should be designed, as far as possible, around urban villages or have a neighbourhood focal point (or points), taking due account of local and community identities and linkages and the need to facilitate the effectiveness of the governance and representational roles of elected members"

Now that five seat Electoral Areas are permitted, the 2018 boundary committee can ensure point 4 in their terms of reference are implemented in respect of SDCC. This option had not been open to the 2013 boundary committee as 5 seat EAs had been prohibited in their terms of reference.

Enclosed are tables demonstrating the rationale behind what revisions we deem as necessary to ensure local government reflects the structure of communities on the ground.

Sincerely

Stephen Wade Constituency Organiser Dublin South West Labour Party

TALLAGHT SOUTH & TALLAGHT CENTRAL

As demonstrated on the table below no amendment is necessary to the Tallaght electoral areas.

6969 People = 1 Seat in SDCC 44210 People = 6.3 Seats 39526 People = 5.7 Seats 83736 People = 12 Seats

The 2016 census bears this out:

TOTAL	44210
SAGGART	4640
TALLAGHT FETTERCAIRN	8380
TALLAGHT KILLINARDEN	3958
TALLAGHT KILTIPPER	8487
BALLINASCORNEY	921
TALLAGHT JOBSTOWN	17824
DISTRICT ELECTORAL DIVISION	POP

DISTRICT ELECTORAL DIVISION	POP
TALLAGHT BELGARD	1692
TALLAGHT SPRINGFIELD	11012
TALLAGHT KINGSWOOD	3996
TALLAGHT GLENVIEW	1934
TALLAGHT TYMON	4956
TALLAGHT KILNAMANAGH	4386
TALLAGHT BALLYMOUNT	2047
TALLAGHT OLDBAWN	4579
TALLAGHT MILLBROOK	3386
TALLAGHT AVONBEG	1538
TOTAL	39526

Observations from the 2016 census results and Small Area Population (SAP) analysis:

- The Dodder River, Tymon Park and a large green belt naturally surround the Tallaght Central LEA to the South, East and North, which excludes the transfer of areas across these boundaries without splitting up and isolating communities.
- Jobstown, Brookfield, Fettercairn and Killinarden form one contiguous block of areas that are classified as disadvantaged under the HP Pobal index. These areas should be kept together in Tallaght South so that they can coordinate to address their common needs.
- Citywest and Jobstown form a contiguous urban development that share access to many centrally located services. The newer part of Jobstown (including the estates of Sundale, MacUilliam, Ardmore and Swiftbrook) has a much younger demographic than the rest of Tallaght and adjacent areas. With Citywest, these areas form a block of young families with shared facilities and planning needs.
- There is a very high concentration of communities of people born outside Ireland in Saggart (30% of the population) Citywest (26%) and the newer Jobstown estates (25%). These areas and communities should be kept together as dividing them weaken their voice in local politics.

In order to prevent splitting up communities, or adversely impacting the *identities and linkages*, the committee should maintain the current boundaries in Tallaght and make changes to the other part of the constituency as outlined below.

FIRHOUSE – RATHFARNHAM - TEMPLEOGUE

The terms of reference of the 2013 Boundary Committee prohibited LEAs smaller than six members. In an effort to create two six-seat wards the 2013 committee divided the communities of Firhouse and Knocklyon in a totally illogical way to bring Templeogue and Rathfarnham up to six seat LEAs.

This resulted in the Firhouse area having no locally based representation after the 2014 local elections.

Now that the prohibition on five seat LEAs has been removed, the opportunity exists to respect the identities of Rathfarnham, Templeogue, Firhouse with a new configuration based on a five seat, and seven seat LEA.

The solution to this problem is a seven seat and five seat LEA. This solution would respect community identities and ensure

- All 6 Rathfarnham EDs would be in the one Electoral Area
- All 3 Firhouse EDs along with Bohernabreena would be in the one Electoral Area
- All the Templeogue EDs would be in the one Electoral Area

6969 People = 1 Seat in SDCC 47492 People = 6.9 Seats 34202 People = 4.9 Seats

LOCAL ELECTORAL AREA	POP	SEATS
RATHFARNHAM-TEMPLEOGUE	47492	6.9
FIRHOUSE	34202	4.9

However, the above can only be achieved by not putting Rathfarnham and Templeogue in two different EAs. These two urban villages can share the same seven seat EA (as they did from 1999 to 2009).

7 SEAT RATHFARNHAM TEMPLEOGUE

5 SEAT FIRHOUSE

POP
3099
4602
3877
3288
2612
5028
4856
2074
2714

DISTRICT ELECTORAL DIVISION	POP
BOHERNABREENA	4496
FIRHOUSE VILLAGE	12214
FIRHOUSE BALLYCULLEN	8230
FIRHOUSE KNOCKLYON	3505
EDMONDSTOWN	5757
TOTAL	34202

TEMPLEOGUE ORWELL	2056
TEMPLEOGUE OSPREY	2246
TEMPLEOGUE LIMEKILN	3449
TERENURE ST JAMES	2568
TERENURE CHERRYFIELD	2151
TERENURE GREENTREES	2872
TOTAL	47492

D6W PART OF SDCC - NAMING

Despite Terenure Village and most of its environs being in the Dublin City local authority, the name "Terenure" keeps being applied to electoral areas in the Templeogue and Walkinstown areas in SDCC.

This practice is confusing even to the boundary committee whose website has mistakenly included submissions pertaining to Terenure in Dublin City Council within their SDCC file on their website (this needs to be corrected at boundarycommittee.ie)

The "Terenure" name should be applied only to electoral areas in Dublin City Council "Templeogue" should be the name applied to any electoral areas in the Dublin 6W area of SDCC.